Vanuatu Golf Open 2010

Vanuatu Golf Open Sponsored by Tusker BrewreysProfessional golfers Michael Foote and John Furze and eleven club members left on Monday 16th August to participate in the 2010 Vanautu Golf Open Championships.

A great time both golf wise and sightseeing was thoroughly enjoyed by all participants.

The 2010 Vanuatu Golf Open will be staged once again at the Port Vila Golf and Country club from the 17th to the 22nd of August.

The 4 day tournament is preceded on Tuesday 17th by a welcome cocktail party and on Wednesday the traditional Pro am event which in 2010 will be sponsored by FR8 Logistics

From humble beginnings, the Tusker Vanuatu Golf Open is now a well established event for professional and Amateurs alike.

The first Vanuatu Golf Open was played at the Port Vila Golf and Country Club in 1984. It was sponsored by Benson and Hedges for AUD$2,000 and was contested by only three professionals from Australia and Amateurs from New Caledonia, Fiji and the Solomon Islands.

The event now hosts up to 50 professionals from Australia, New Zealand, Fiji, and New Caledonia with prize money AUD$50,000.   

 Our Time in Vanuatu  


The Port Vila Golf and Country Club is presently the only 18 hole championship course in Vanuatu and the course provides a challenge to professionals and Amateurs alike. The 5818 metre layout runs parallel to the Ocean facing the outer reaches of the magnificent Port Vila Harbour.

The VGO Committee works almost year round to ensure the success of the event which now boasts prize money of AUD$50,000 which is due to the generous support of our Naming Sponsor, Tusker Brewery, who is the naming sponsor and their generous support is complemented by the sponsorship of many other local corporations in Port Vila.

The Vanuatu Golf Open 2010 is under way and despite a few showers on Tuesday and Wednesday the weather as predicted has come good and golfers are being treated the very best of Port Vila Weather Golfers from Australia, New Zealand , New Caledonia, New Guinea, Fiji and Vanuatu have entered the popular 4 day competition.

Two times Pro Champ Brad McIntosh is back to try and make it three titles and he started well by winning the FR8 Logistics/Agility pro am with a great 6 under 66 to win by a shot from Andre Stolz and Martin Dive on 67

 The Course

  The 18th hole over the water hazard     Putting on the Green

 On the Tuesday afternoon after we all had completed our practice round for for the upcoming event we visited a local village opposite the golf club.

All the caddies and even their wives who caddied all came from this village and it was certainly an eye opener for all.

Our Visit to the Local Village

John instructing the group on how to  grip the club    John with the children from the village

 Golf Lesson at the Village

  John playing soccer with the children from the village   

 More photos of the trip 

Blakey with his caddy    John with Nu-Nu one of the caddies and bus drivers

Blakey and Furzy with their caddies as they get local knowledge

Furzy, Greg and PB (Peter)    Theo and Graham

It's all smiles as the boys enjoy a Tusker Beer on arrival at Vanuatu

    Captain PB at the controls - All aboard

P.B (Peter) at the contols - All aboard, it's thumbs up and off we go

Hi guys - have just downloaded my photos from our golf trip - copy the link below to your browser and clik slideshow to top right of photos - enjoy,.Graham

Click on the following Link to Graham's site

 The Leaderboard

 Position Member Name State Par Rd1 Rd2 Rd3 Rd4 Score Prize money  

The Leaderboard1 Andre p. Stolz NSW -15 69 67 69 68 273 9370.37

2 Josh Lane NSW -12 65 73 69 69 276 4717.77

2 Brad Mcintosh NSW -12 68 74 67 67 276 4717.77

4 Ryan T Hammond VIC -11 70 68 69 70 277 2697.73

5 Matthew Millar ACT -10 71 66 73 68 278 2280.69

5 Brad Shilton NZ -10 69 72 63 74 278 2280.69

7 Peter J Wilson VIC -9 73 70 65 71 279 1746.36

7 Steven Jeffress NSW -9 68 72 70 69 279 1746.36

9 Simon j. Furneaux NSW -8 70 71 70 69 280 1498.74

10 Martin Dive NSW -5 68 70 72 73 283 1446.61

11 Aaron Cox V 0 69 75 70 74 288 1290.22

11 Tony McNaughton VIC 0 65 72 74 77 288 1290.22

13 Peter M Nolan VIC 1 72 74 71 72 289 1081.70

13 Andrew Evans NSW 1 69 75 66 79 289 1081.70

15 Michael Foote VIC 3 72 70 74 75 291 873.18        

15 Charles Kares NSW 3 74 72 73 72 291 873.18  

E-Wave Graphic Design & Website Development
X Close